Rashida Jones and Rob Lowe to leave Pawnee, me to cry

First you took away Lil’ Sebastian, but now Ann Perkins and Chris Traeger will leave us too?!

The news was released today–Rashida Jones and Rob Lowe will leave Parks and Recreation in episode 13 of this year’s sixth season. Please know that this news and nothing short of devastating.

Granted, if any characters absolutely have to leave Pawnee it makes the most sense for Chris and Ann to move on, but STILL. It is difficult to imagine the series without these two. Who will be lit-rally the MOST positive person on the planet? Who will be Leslie’s confidant on whom she can shower with endless compliments?

The show has only gotten better with age, and I’m sure it will all make sense in due time, but right now, all we can do is hold hands and try to get through this together.

christraeger

But of course, I do have an idea for how they can really handle their departure: SPIN-OFF.

I’m not normally a huge fan of spin-offs (Sorry, Joey), but I think I would be ok with it in this instance. Think about it: Ann never really fit in with the Pawnee crew, and Chris has always been a big fish in a small pond–what would their relationship look like in a different place? Plus I am a fan of Rashida Jones and Rob Lowe, I would watch them in anything (thanks for putting me through all those Lifetime movies, Rob), and I think it would be interesting to see them in lead roles on a sitcom. I don’t know, I don’t want to give away too many of my great ideas, but there is definitely potential. If a spin-off isn’t in the cards, at least this will free-up more time for Rashida to write more of her own films! (Go watch Celeste & Jesse Forever. Right now).

Whatever the outcome, I know Chris and Ann will be missed in Pawnee and beyond.

Leave a comment